yeah, another template with a lily on it yeah, another template with a lily on it
2004-06-21
My mom hurt her knee, so she asked if I could help babysit my nephews. She takes care of them during the week for my sister. So I thought it would be a good time for Cami to get some puppy play time in. When I got to my parents' house, my dad told me that Lacey (the chocolate lab) was sick and he didn't want Cami to play with her. So I put Cam outside with Rebos (the moose) and brought Lacey in.

I was watching Lacey and getting concerned because she was so lethargic and obviously not feeling well. Then she looked up at me and I noticed the tissue surrounding her eyeball was swollen.

I took her back to my mom's room to get her to lie down and so I could bring in the other dogs. When I went back in about an hour to check on her, both of her eyes were all swollen. She was also very difficult to wake up. So my mom called the vet who had seen Lace this morning and told her what was going on. I ended up taking Lacey down to the vet right away.

While we were in the room with the vet, she started swelling up on her nose and mouth. It turns out that she was having an allergic reaction to something, but we don't know what. We also don't know if the upset tummy was from the allergic reaction or not.

I'm grateful everything worked out. I'm also grateful I used to be a vet tech. I'm not sure I would have been so alarmed by the swelling if I hadn't had the experience. I also wonder if my mom would have taken me seriously because I only became the family animal expert from working at the vet clinic. I also wonder if I would have been able to get into the vet so quickly if I hadn't worked with this vet before and babysat her children. Things really work out a certain way for a reason.

On a more exciting note, Cami starts obedience class tomorrow evening! Yahoo!


about
---------
navigate
---------
did you miss?
---------
credit
---------

0 comments so far