yeah, another template with a lily on it yeah, another template with a lily on it
2004-06-08
I realized I had told my sister I would get mom's birthday card from the both of us. We're celebrating her birthday tonight. So I took Cami out to Target to get a card and a nylabone (she keeps stealing my parents' dogs' nylabones). Then afterwards I wanted a hot fudge sundae from McDonald's (call it revisiting childhood), so I decided to go in and eat it instead of picking it up at the drive-through.

We got a lot of attention in there. The first big attention came from two women who appeared to have Down's syndrome. They were with two adult caretakers, who were reassuring them that the dog was nice. I walked by at a respectable distance and said, "She's a very nice dog." Then I asked if one of the ladies wanted to pet Cami. The woman screamed and hid behind her caretaker. I told her it was okay, she didn't have to pet the dog. Then we walked off.

I was eating my sundae when two girls came up. They stood back and told me my dog was pretty. Then the older one (probably about 10 years old) asked if they could pet her. I said of course and gave Cami her "make friends" command. Then I thanked the girls for asking first and told them how good it was that they did that. I like parents who teach their kids how to act around animals, ya know?

Then another funny thing happened. There was this girl, I would guess about 6 or 7 years old, trying to work herself up into a temper tantrum/emotional fit. She started walking down the row where Cam and I were and she was screaming and crying and whining. She caught sight of Cami, gasped, stopped all noise and turned around and went another way to her table. The minute she was out of sight, I could hear her start up on the temper tantrum again. I guess she isn't comfortable around dogs and I guess the tantrum wasn't that real :o)


about
---------
navigate
---------
did you miss?
---------
credit
---------

0 comments so far