yeah, another template with a lily on it yeah, another template with a lily on it
2004-07-26
Today was an interesting day. It started with me pulling up to the school to realize that the county was using it as the place to hold orientation for at least 100 new teachers. Cami was so funny. We pulled into the school drive and at first you couldn't see the cars. She got all excited because she had spent last week there and got lots of attention. Then we turned the little corner and there were cars parked over the entire soccer field. Cami's eyes got wide. If she were a person, her jaw would have dropped, I'm sure.

Then I parked near the front office to sign in. Cami was clearly overwhelmed by the number of people and she was sticking to me like glue. A few people petted her and then I went in the office to sign in. My principal came in and smiled at Cami. Then he petted her. I do think I'm going to like this guy.

I took Cami back to my portable and the person that called me snippy got all excited when she saw the dog. As predicted, she acted as though nothing happened. People are such dog 'ho's. I mean, people will do anything, just about, to be able to pet and play with a well-behaved and gorgeous dog.

Case in point, there is this teacher who made my life a living hell my first year teaching. Then last year, my second year teaching, she pointedly ignored me. This morning I got a smile and a conversation about dogs. Then later I wanted into the building where she is and the door was locked. She happened to be the one coming down the hall, so she let me in. Before she even had the door open she asked if the dog was there. She smiled and talked to me the way she used to talk to me before she decided she wanted me off her team--or better yet, fired.

Cami met lots of people today and then we crashed in my portable. She slept pretty well and learned how to retrieve pens, a stack of notecards and her water dish. She is really amazing.


about
---------
navigate
---------
did you miss?
---------
credit
---------

0 comments so far