yeah, another template with a lily on it yeah, another template with a lily on it
2004-06-05
I took Cami out this morning and we worked on her "make friends" command. That is what I'm supposed to say when people want to pet her (and it's okay with me). Unfortunately, this is a hard command to teach because I cannot seem to train the people around me. A lot of people just come up and pet. I would say it's about 50/50 for people who know to ask first (or leave her alone entirely) and those who just assume she's there for petting.

The cutest thing happened at Target. I was walking Cam down an aisle and this little boy saw her. He was probably about 4 years old. He giggled, which made his mom look up and notice Cami. I asked if they wanted to meet her and the boy started petting her and said, "I never saw a dog in a store before!" It was pretty cute.

I took her to lunch at Chili's after our errands. She did really well, but she was starting to lose her focus while I was waiting for my change. I was tempted to leave a $10 tip just because I wanted to end the training on a positive note.

I'm really amazed at how little people know about service dogs. They all assume she is going to be a guide dog for the blind. Most people just don't get the whole assistance concept. A lady today asked if she was going to be a seeing dog or a hearing dog. I thought it was an interesting question because I would have thought hearing dogs were known less about than assistance dogs doing the work that Cami will be doing.

Boo Radley is still trying to convince me that this whole dog thing is a colossally bad idea. He isn't having much luck, though because Cami simply won't play along and attack him. She pretty much leaves him alone until he has teased her beyond all resistance, then a short chase follows. Still she isn't at all aggressive toward the cats. I think Booger Boy is disappointed because that means she'll be staying for the full 6 months. Poor kitty.


about
---------
navigate
---------
did you miss?
---------
credit
---------

0 comments so far