yeah, another template with a lily on it yeah, another template with a lily on it
2004-06-04
Cami went to work with me today and it went well, overall. At one point there were a bunch of people eating and talking and she was a bit nervous. As soon as the noise settled down and most the people left, she just went to sleep.

She has discovered the ferrets and won't leave them alone now. She goes up to their cage and sniffs at them and they sniff back at her. I tried to introduce her and Weezil, but it was clear that Cami thought of Weez as a squeak toy. I would like it if they got along well, but if they don't, they just won't be out at the same time.

We're really going to work on heeling over the next few days. She is getting bad about pulling me. Cami seems to think that parking lots and wide aisles mean no rules. Grrrr.

I'm also working with her on the "hold" command. She was doing pretty well, but then she just wanted me to throw the ball.

I think I'll be taking her out to lunch tomorrow. That should be interesting.

Just some thoughts to ponder:

A lot of people have told me I'm doing a great thing, but I don't see it that way. I see this as an opportunity to have a dog with me all the time. I love obedience training and I love dogs, what could be better? Well, it would be better if I could keep her.

I'm really gonna miss this dog. People keep telling me that they couldn't give the dog up. I know what they're saying. I will give her up because she isn't mine to begin with, but it's gonna hurt.

It's interesting what having a dog in the workplace will do for people. There was one lady I work with who said from the start that she wasn't going to pet Cami. I took that to mean that she didn't like dogs. Well, on Wednesday, when I showed up dogless, she got upset. She said she really liked the dog, she just didn't want to pet her. Then today her face lit up everytime Cami walked by. It was great.


about
---------
navigate
---------
did you miss?
---------
credit
---------

0 comments so far